thelibraryinsider

Learning how to deal

In Uncategorized on August 13, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Today I’ve been thinking alot about competition and what it means to be a progressive thinker.

I find myself loving a field that’s on the brink of change. For a industry whose main objective is to provide resources for those who seek it, the very way in which we do business is undergoing a massive structure overhaul. And the main question still remains:

Will libraries still be relevant in the future?

Each day, I feel like I’m in a competition to define myself as a library professional. What library person am I going to be? Am I going to be that librarian that defines their working relationship solely in correlation to the people that I serve, or am I going to be that Librarian that creates something new and inventive that ultimately changes the way that the library functions as a whole? Is there a middle ground?

I love customer service. I love seeing the way that people react to that unexpectant offering of assistance, or the gratitude that people exhibit when you finally help them find the solution to problem. Its my nature. Im usually the first to offer help when it is in my power to do so. But I am also a thinker…a problem solver who seeks to be inventive and revolutionary. But lately Ive debated whether my focus would be better spent focusing on one aspect, rather than the other.

So now I’m in a competition with myself and I don’t know who I should let win. Should I allow myself to follow my heart and stick to what I KNOW I am good at, what I know I was constantly excel in? Or should I let my environment dictate to me how I should grow, allowing my head to dictatate a path that is so very new but has limitless possibillities?

The fight still remains and I am as undecided as always.

Leave a Reply

