thelibraryinsider

Change

In Random stream of thought on July 3, 2009 at 6:13 pm

Everyone says that change is a good thing and, dont get me wrong, it can be. No one loves to see growth as much as I do.
That being said, the changes that I see in public libraries are astounding and I’m excited. BUT, I am also very wary. Day in and day out, I have conversations with librarians who are of different ages and come from different backgrounds. Their take on the growth on libraries is as different as night and day.
Take for instance, the issue of phasing out the Dewey decimal system. For me, this seems like a good idea, to some extent. As far as adult services and literature is concerned, organizing material based on Dewey is not only extremely efficient, but also uber practical. There are so many categories and sub categories that without the DEW, nothing would be able to be found. My view on using the DEW in children’s is the complete opposite though.
After working in Children’s off and on for a number of years, I’ve realized that Dewey is not practical or efficient for this department. Just yesterday, I had the opportunity to sub in children’s and was amazed at how difficult it is to keep items and materials in order. Organizing the Non-fiction section, for example, almost makes you want to pull Dewey from the grave and drop kick him. Did he ever realize the extent of the chaos that is children’s??
I highly believe that Children’s should be made into a bookstore layout. Meaning that instead of having spine labels, Children’s should utilize shelf labels instead. If the goal is for a patron to find what they need, in a limited amount of time, than this layout is equal to the DEW in its efficiency. Believe me, children wont notice the difference. Many of them go off off what the cover of the book looks like anyway. I mean, isnt that one of the reasons why they just happen to be so d*&# colorful?
I believe that by implementing this, it will save both time and stress. But hey…what do I know?

Leave a Reply

